Nerdlocker.com

Nautilus Art Prints Takes Us ‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’


Find tickets and showtimes on Fandango.

 

nautilus-art-prints

When Brussels based Nautilus Art Prints launched earlier this year, they set out to bring European popular culture to the forefront. Their first release was Laurent Durieux‘s take on Jules Verne’s ‘Journey to the Center of the Earth‘ followed by Stan & Vince‘s interpretation of the H.G. Wells classic ‘First Men in the Moon.’ Nautilus has returned to Verne for ‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea,’ imagined by UK based illustrator Jonathan Burton.

Burton is a skilled illustrator with a penchant for creating wonderfully fun and elegant scenes, his style a throwback to the era of original ‘Leagues’ illustrator Alphonse de Neuville.

In Burton’s version of ‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea‘ we get the iconic battle, sea beast versus sea beast. Man and machine against the mutant of the deep water. It’s an image that encapsulates all that Verne gave us in his 1870 novel — adventure and excitement, a visionary’s thrust at the future. There is no Nemo in Burton’s piece, but all you see stems from the path the good Captain set forth.

‘ The sea is everything. It covers seven tenths of the terrestrial globe. Its breath is pure and healthy. It is an immense desert, where man is never lonely, for he feels life stirring on all sides.’ – Jules Verne

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea‘ will be available at the Nautilus Art Prints store on Monday September 15th 7PM CEST | 6PM BST | 10AM PST | 1PM EDT

 

'20,000 Leagues Under the Sea' Regular Edition by Jonathan Burton

‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’ Regular Edition by Jonathan Burton

 

‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’ Regular Edition

24″ X 36″ 9 Color Screenprint

Limited Edition of 250

$60

'20,000 Leagues Under the Sea' Variant Edition by Jonathan Burton

‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’ Variant Edition by Jonathan Burton

 

‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’ Variant Edition

24″ X 36″ 9 Color Screenprint

Limited Edition of 100

$90

 

Check out the photo gallery below for closeups of the print:

For more info on comics, video games, movies and anything else nerd, check out Nerdlocker.com, a place for your inner nerd.

Also check us out on:
Nerdlocker Shop: http://www.nerdlocker.com/store
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/nerdlocker
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/nerdlocker
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nerdlocker
Email us at: info@nerdlocker.com